Skip Main Navigation

Magistrate Court Judges


The Magistrate Courts of Georgia were established in 1983 when the current Constitution was ratified. The Constitution mandated the Magistrate Court replace the Justice Courts and a variety of small claims courts or limited jurisdiction courts that were known by a variety of different names. Until recently the Magistrate Court was a division of State Court by local legislation. The current form of the Fulton County Magistrate Court was established by legislation in May 2013, following a recommendation of the Fulton County Court Improvement Task Force. The Judges proudly serve the Fulton County Magistrate Court under the leadership of the Chief Magistrate Judge who is selected by Fulton County voters to four year terms in a nonpartisan, countywide race.

Once sworn into office, the Chief Magistrate appoints the Court's judges with the approval of judges from Fulton County State Court and Fulton County Superior Court. Magistrates serve terms concurrent with that of the Chief Magistrate.